Sunday October 26, 2008

It was such a beautiful day in Kentucky today.  We had blue skies and 60 degrees, with the typical stiff Kentucky breeze.  That is a given around here, I think!   We were very busy today as well, starting with about eight people at 10 am, including some returning friends from Wisconsin.  At 1 o’clock, we had a whole bunch of Girl Scouts, their troop leaders, parents, siblings, grandparents….a giant, giggling, gaggle of Girl Scouts!   They were so much fun, too.  (In case you haven’t heard me say this, the kids who visit are just the best!)  I started my tour, as I often do, reminding them that some horses might not take well to patting and may try to bite.  I could tell right away the girls would pay attention.   I told them I was really more concerned about their dads not listening to me (as is usually the case).  Sure enough, Creator made a grab at one of the dads.  The girls thought that was pretty hysterical.  Personally, I think Creator heard my warning and was making me look like I actually knew what I was talking about.  Extra treats for Creator next week!

Fortunate Prospect is such a champ. He hung his head over the fence for carrots, kisses, and pats.  He is truly the best, and genuinely loves the kids.  We visited pretty much everyone–Wallenda, Ruhlmann, Bull, Ogie, Awad, Sunshine, Dan, Swannie, and The Wicked North.   Norty is also a delight with the kids.  (Although Norty’s best visitor came at 3 pm, when a little tiny guy named Brody gave him a carrot. As soon as Norty took the carrot from his hand, Brody just giggled and giggled.  But I’m getting ahead of myself).

The Scouts ended up with a share in Silver Charm, and they left us with a book of drawings and thank-you notes they put together.  You girls all deserve the badges you earned today, and I hope you come back for another visit.

The last tour today included a busload of women from Japan.  There was definitely a language barrier, even though they had a translator along.  But the language barrier disappeared when they met Pops.  I said “Seabiscuit” and next thing you know, everyone was lined up for pictures.  One lady in particular was pretty excited to feed him since apparently she is a great fan of the movie.  (That Pops.  When you get right down to it, the movie star thing has worked out exceedingly well for him.)  The ladies also got a real kick out of Brody and Norty.  When Brody giggled, the entire group applauded!   Apparently it doesn’t matter what language you speak, kids and horses are universal.  It was cool.

The horses are all happy with the cooler weather.  Williamstown did a little dance and buck for the morning crowd.  He was showing off for Monday, who was right there getting carrots.  Silver Charm trotted around his paddock for us once or twice today, and Awad and Kiri both came over at a trot.  Leave Seattle bit my thumb, not hard but just enough to sting.  He is the only horse who can consistently get me.  He is very sneaky, and quick as a wink.  It might just be me, though.   I can’t say I’ve heard anyone else say he tries to bite them!

Well, that wraps up another weekend.  I don’t have any earth-shattering news to share; it was just a typical fun day of nice people and terrific horses.  It doesn’t get much better than that.  We hope you can visit us soon, but in the meantime, thanks for spending another Sunday with Old Friends!

-Val

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday October 26, 2008

  1. Gayle

    I was so excited when I read in the newsletter about Alysheba coming home to Kentucky! I was a big fan of his sire, who of course would have won the Triple Crown except for a horse named Affirmed. I definitely have to put Kentucky in my travel plans for next year! Actually, Fort Knox high school is having a big reunion but I hadn’t planned on going but who knows.

  2. oldfriendsblog

    Gayle,

    come and visit Kentucky; the more the merrier! There is a ton of things to do here, both horse-related and otherwise.

    I’ll head out to the Horse Park soon to meet Alysheba and I’ll let everyone know when I get there. -Val

Leave a Reply

